Why I think I’m going to like the Smart Cookies

I have fallen off of the get-my-financial-life-together bandwagon.  I guess I’d like to come crawling back to see if I can get back on.  In the past, I have tried to use Mint and Excel to attempt to budget and balance my money.  Neither has gone very well.  Excel gets forgotten completely while Mint just get forgotten.  Of course, Mint sends me texts every Friday to tell me how broke I am, so at least I’m thinking of Mint one day a week.  I also get emails from Mint about my weekly financial snapshot and those are promptly archived without being opened.

So, the really big question is, what makes the Smart Cookies different from Mint and what makes it at all likely that I’ll follow up with my financial goals?  I think the easiest answer is that I’m scared and intimidated.  Mint is pretty shiny and web-y.  It seems like Mint is for people who have more of their financial lives together.  I’d much rather have someone who failed and then came back from it, tell me what to do to get my life in order.  I sure do love to relate to people and there’s no one I can relate to on Mint.  I think there’s some sort of comparison feature to see where you stand against other user’s of Mint, but that’s not really what I’m looking for.

So, I’m going to try out the Smart Cookies, five women who failed pretty big and then wrote a book about it and started a website.  We’ll see how this goes.

One thought on “Why I think I’m going to like the Smart Cookies

  1. I’d not heard of Smart Cookies until now. I’m going to check it out. Our financials are in a shambles. Hubby and I just can’t seem to figure out the best way to manage our money and always end up overspending. We have some big goals coming up soon and could really use the advice. Thanks for putting this out there!!

Leave a Reply

