Running in my Future?

I’ve always wanted to be a runner.  Maybe it’s because runners look so fit and healthy.  Or maybe it’s because you can just put on your shoes and do it without a gym or fancy equipment.  Whatever the reason, being a runner has always been a lofty goal for me.  Unless using a motorized vehicle, I’m pretty slow at getting from point A to point B.  Being a slow runner probably caused me to think that I couldn’t be a runner because I wasn’t fast enough.  Of course that’s just silly, but with other forms of exercise available, I just let it go.

The other day, Kat from Kat’s Adventures in Dietland announced that she had chosen a half marathon to do.  I got to wondering if I would be able to complete a half-marathon.  Wondering lead to looking at events on Running in the USA and before I could do anything, I was signed up for the Denver Rock n Roll Half Marathon.  I’ll just let you take a moment to allow that to sink in.  Whoa, I’m signed up to do a half marathon in October (as a late birthday present to myself).  I’m a little stunned by this, but it’s ok, I have a plan!

I’m following Hal Higdon’s half marathon training plan for the novice level.  I put all the workouts into my Workout Google Apps Calendar and I’ve even picked out the 5K and 10K I want to do for weeks 6 and 9.  Yeah, this is going to happen!  I’ll be tracking my workouts on dailymile.

On to a quick update.  Last night I worked out with my trainer and sweated a lot.  I’m not sure what exactly it was that I did, but my traps are really sore today.  Other than that, it was a pretty good work out.  Since today is the first day of my half marathon training, I jogged three miles this morning.  Not very fast, but I jogged it and didn’t walk in the middle!

To keep me running-motivated, I’m keeping these things in mind:

  • It’s people like me who make people like you fast. 🙂
  • The great part about running is that there is always going to be someone faster and someone slower.
  • When can you be called a runner?  As soon as you lace up your shoes and head out the door.

What I’m reading today: My Fitness Bucket List from Oh She Glows (older post, but still good and it got me thinking!)

2 thoughts on “Running in my Future?

  1. OK, I seriously said YAY out loud when I read you’d signed up for a half! Have you seen UP? The dog that’s like ‘squirrel’…that’s me with running. teehee. I hope you find your love for it in training. Speed isn’t everything, I think it’s actually good to take it easy on speed at first, when I started I ran 13 and 14 minute miles, seriously I think people can walk that fast, but I didn’t quit because I allowed myself to start slow. OK, writing a book on your blog..again YAY for you!

    • I’m really excited for the half…I’ve never attempted something like it before! I LOVE Dug on Up, he’s just too cute. I know speed isn’t the first issue to be focusing on, but sometimes I wish I were faster because I definitely know people who walk at my jogging pace. I’m trying to tell people in my life that I’m doing the half so I have some accountability…plus, I already registered! SQUEE!

Leave a Reply

