July Goals

Happy Canada Day!  Since it’s the first of July, it’s time for some monthly goals.  This month’s goals are going to look a lot like June’s goals, but I’m ok with that.  I have a couple projects, outside of healthy living, that I need to work on.  It looks like it will be quite the busy month.

  • Swim 2x week (Tuesday and Thursday, perhaps?)
  • Bike 1x week (I’d like to bike to work 1 day a week and do the Venus rides)
  • Stick to the half marathon training plan (I’ve already registered and I’ve told people about it, so failure isn’t really an option)
  • Continue to track my food (I’m more conscious of what I eat when I have to write it down and I feel much better when I eat well.  Win-win!)
  • Sleep 7 (+?) hours a night (I didn’t really focus on this goal last month, but some days my body focused for me and turned off my alarms!)
  • Move to Boulder (OK, this is going to happen because my lease is up at the end of July.  I need a reminder to start packing though!)
  • Read one health & fitness book (I have Winning by Losing by Jillian Michaels; I’ll start with that)
  • Write WordPress theme tutorial (I’m giving a Geek Lab at BlogHer!)
  • Work on side project (2nd half of July?)

I think these are attainable goals for July.  On a different note, I had a really active day yesterday.  I did a hip hop class, played a game of rugby sevens, and worked out with my trainer.  I haven’t played rugby in a good two years.  It was…interesting.  There’s definitely room for improvement! 🙂  Working out with Ty was really intense.  It was a lot of cardio; our sessions usually aren’t so cardio heavy, but it was a great work out!

Today I’m feeling really tired.  I wanted to get up and go running, but that just didn’t happen.  I really need to focus on getting enough sleep.  I don’t watch a lot of TV, but if the TV is on, I’ll stay up much later than I intended (like last night).  I’ll sit in front of the TV with Egg (my netbook) and just goof off.  Perhaps I need to set personal office hours for myself where I define what I want to do and when I want to do it.  The internet is such a big place that sometimes I need help focusing on what I’m supposed to be doing.

On a side note, I’m trying to consolidate my online persona.  I’m going to keep this blog, but I don’t need it to be an annonymous blog.  I’m going to add my other WordPress account as an admin and start posting from there.  At some point I might get brave enough to actually transfer this blog to my main account.

Photo from Rob Warde

One thought on “July Goals

  1. Sounds like some great goals. I find I just have to have 8 hours of sleep to function. I always wonder how people function on 5 or 6, tougher than me I guess!
    I know you didn’t ask for a rec, but The Eat Clean Diet is an awesome book. More about portions/good nutrition and less about obsessing. Obsessing is my struggle.
    You commented on my blog about suggestions: I would L-O-V-E some. I am a complete newbie at all of this (since Dec) and as you can tell I’m pretty clueless still. I keep planning to move to wordpress, but am so comfy on blogger, sigh. my email is katdoesdiets@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

