Week in (P)Review [7.5.10]

Week in Review

Overall, I think this past week went really well.  I worked out and it felt like I was eating right.  Last night I did slip up and go to McDonald’s on my way home from dancing.  On the plus side, I didn’t up-size my meal and I got a diet Dr. Pepper.  I’m also working out today, so I’m hoping that will help combat some of the extra calories.  How did the week go in terms of my monthly goals?

Swim 2x week

This week I swam on Tuesday and Thursday (links to my Dailymile workouts).  Yay, success!

Bike 1x week

This week I did the Venus de Miles club ride.  We went about 15 miles (pdf map).  I had a chain issue about half-way through, but our sweep was able to help me out!  Overall really fun ride and afterward we went to The Cup for breakfast/brunch/lunch.  Venus de Miles riders get a discount on days when we ride.  I had their homemade granola with strawberries and skim milk.  It was scrumptious!  Success!

Half marathon training plan

Today I finished week 1 of Hal Higdon’s half marathon novice training plan.  I ran a little over 4 miles today!!!  That’s the longest distance I’ve ever run in one go without stopping.  I’m quite proud of myself.  I looked at my Dailymile stats and my pace has been pretty steady all week.  I think my running this week has been quite the accomplishment.  So we’re counting this a success too!

After my 4 mile run...red-faced and a hot mess!

After my 4 mile run...red-faced and a hot mess!

Continue tracking what I eat

I still have to put in food for yesterday afternoon and today, but other than that, I’m tracking what I eat.  It keeps me accountable and sometimes I don’t eat something out of pure laziness.  Like jellybeans or M&Ms, I don’t want to count out how many to have and I don’t want to figure what fraction of a serving I ate.  Right now, it looks like I’m eating better through laziness and I’m ok with that.  Success!

Sleep more

This one is iffy. I need to focus on this one.

Move to Boulder

Happening this weekend, I’m packing today.  Not a success yet, but it’s well on its way.

Read 1 health/fitness book

I’ve started Winning by Losing and I really like it.  I’m even doing some of the activities in the book.  I’m about a quarter of the way through, so far so good.

WordPress tutorial & side project

Moving comes first.

Week in (P)review

This week might be a little stressful.  My dad and Greg (family friend from Australia visiting my parents for part of the summer) are going to be coming to CO this weekend to help me move (my mom and Deb, Greg’s wife, will be at a conference in ND).  I’m really excited they’re coming, whether to help me move or not.  I need to make sure I have lots of stuff packed by the time they get here on Friday.

I plan on running this week and working out with Ty, but I’m not sure what else I’ll have time for.  I’ll probably go play rugby on Wednesday so that I’m in the Denver area and I can stop by my condo and do some more packing.  I’m also hoping that I’ll be able to go on the Venus ride on Saturday, but things seem really up in the air right now.

As far as eats this week, I have lots of fruit that I need to eat and I’m not sure what I’ll be having for lunches yet.  Maybe something bean based.

What’s coming up for you this week?

What I’m reading today: Get in the Zone from Fit Bottomed Girls (I’m adding a heart rate monitor to my fitness wish list)

Leave a Reply

