July in Review

Sorry about the two review posts in a row.  I really like to look back at what my months and weeks are like so I can get an idea of what works well and keep myself accountable.  After the review, I’ll do a nice update.

Swim 2x week: At the beginning of the month I was really good about this.  I’ve been traveling a lot these past couple weeks, so I haven’t gotten in the pool as much as I’ve wanted.  On the bright side, I found my membership card so I can stop having the person working the desk look up my membership.  Yay!

Bike 1x week (biking to work counts): I’m going to go ahead and call this a success.  I remember biking at least three times.  Next week, I’m going to have to fit in some brick workouts with biking to prepare myself for my triathlon and the Venus de Miles event.

Half marathon training plan: This month I decided to repeat week 4.  I haven’t been as strong with this goal as I wanted to be, so I’m going to count it as a half success.  It turns out running is really difficult for me when traveling and the days before I’m going to be traveling since I’m focusing on getting things prepped to go.  This is definitely something that I can work on.

Continue tracking what I eat: During the week I’m pretty good about tracking; it’s the weekends that sometimes slip away from me.  Tracking is really helpful for me, so I at least keep a mental list in my head when I can’t write it down immediately.

Sleep at least 7 hours a night: So-so.  The alarm on my new phone is really nifty.  When I set an alarm, it tells me how much time there is until the alarm.  I think I need to start taking advantage of that feature and set my alarm for at least 7 hours from the time I set it.

Move to Boulder: SUCCESS!  I’m all moved to Boulder.  I just have to clean out my car and unpack my desk and what’s left of my wardrobe.

Read 1 health/fitness book: Hopefully I’ll finish this up on my way back from New York on Sunday.

WordPress tutorial: I’m giving my workshop on Saturday; I just need to practice now.

Side project: I didn’t get anything done on this.  I’m going to postpone this until September.


This week I had my Gap Magic appointment, which was awesome!  One thing I’ve discovered about myself is that I get really lazy after seeing quite decent results.  I’m so excited that I’ve lost weight and have gone down at least a size, but now I’m feeling really lazy.  It’s sort of as if I think that after I lose weight I can go back to how I used to eat and workout which was not terribly healthy and rarely.  Don’t get me wrong, I love eating healthy and working out makes me so strong, but sometimes I find it exhausting.  I guess after some milestone is met or positive result seen, I think “Oh good, I can go back to the easy way now.”  Because as Mary said, it’s hard work.

I love working out with Ty because I always feel like I get a full body cardio and weights workout, but my session with him on Monday was awful.  I was in a terrible mood and much more difficult than usual.  At the end of the session he decided to start retraining me to run.  There’s apparently a difference between running and jogging and it’s not just speed.  I won’t lie, that was really hard for me.  I wasn’t very good at it, I had to think to stay on the treadmill (I have a fear of falling) and I was thinking about what my feet were doing and which muscles were supposed to be engaged.  It was a lot for me.  I don’t like being a beginner again and I just wanted to cry because I couldn’t make everything work together.  I know I just need practice, but at the time I felt like a pretty big failure.

Between a poor Monday and my lazy feeling from Sunday, Tuesday wasn’t exactly a day of stellar choices.  I went to a movie with some friends and we went out to California Pizza Kitchen.  I ordered the Pear and Gorgonzola pizza with whole wheat crust.  I ate half of it and it was delicious!  About a year ago I went to California Pizza Kitchen and I devoured an entire pizza.  I guess it’s actually a pretty good sign that I ate half of my pizza and took the rest home.  Right?

After dinner, I went grocery shopping to stock up on fruits and veggies (hello melons and bell peppers!) and to get the ingredients for granola!  Then I went out salsa dancing.  Dancing was super fun and thoroughly sweaty.  I always love to go out dancing and I go out even when I have other stuff to do (like laundry, cleaning, cooking, running, writing, anything)!  When I got back, I had two pieces of BeauJo’s mountain pie that were left over from Sunday.  Not exactly the epitome of healthy, but I did enjoy every bite!  I love eating out and treating myself, but I think I need to cutback on that.  Two to three times a week is a little much.

I’ve been lazy for a couple of days, but I think I’m ready to ramp up for my next goals.  I’m hoping to post some photos from my Gap Magic appointment this afternoon, so be on the lookout for that!  Tomorrow should be a post of my goals for August and some transportation adventures 🙂

Leave a Reply

