BlogHer10: Sessions

I love going to conferences because of the people I get to meet and interact with.  That being said, I managed to make it to a few sessions this year!  The two sessions that I most wanted to attend were Gen Y Passionistas: Making Your Passion “Work” For You and Fitness Blogging – Motivate Yourself and Your Readers.

Since BlogHer was a little bit ago and I didn’t really take notes during my sessions, I just wanted to share with you the main ideas that I gleaned from these to sessions.  If you want to check out the entire session “transcript” you can find the live blog links below.  Actually, if you want to check out any of the sessions of BlogHer, you can check out the live blog for the session.  Cool, huh?

Gen Y Passionistas

For me the major take away was be happy.  Find what your passionate about and do it!  Think about what’s stopping you, write it down if you need to.  Look at the list and come up with solutions.  For me, it might be lack of knowledge or training.  So, I’d start spending my free time doing tutorials or reading about the subject.

Live blog: Gen Y Passionistas

Fitness Blogging

This was a really great session moderated by Roni of Roni’s Weigh (and four other blogs!), who in my mind is a fitness blogging celebrity!

  • Be real.  People come to your blog because you have a unique perspective which has been made up of different experiences.  Be yourself.  Readers like that.
  • Be transparent.  Much like being real, being transparent let’s you readers know that what works for you might not work for them.
  • Be as personal as you want to be.  This is your space, so you define it.  If you don’t want to get into a bunch of personal details, you don’t have to.  If I want to throw in a post about my new favorite pair of shoes (because my shoes are a big part of who I am), I can do that if I want.

Live blog: Fitness Blogging


Palace transition area

Image by Moff via Flickr

Even though I may have a had a McDonald’s Big n Tasty last night for dinner (some plans fell through 😦 stupid migraines), I feel much better than I did a few days ago.  Today has been really good so far.  Of course, it’s only 10:20 in the morning, so things still have time to go sideways, but I’m thinking positive!  Today I’m going to head to the Boulder Reservoir, pick up my packet, rack my bike, and walk around the expo picking up all sorts of cool stuff!  I’m not concerned about my time tomorrow, I just want to finish and I’m 98% sure that I can do that.

Tonight I might be making a tomato pesto puff pastry pizza for dinner and some peach cobbler for dessert.  I’m quite excited.  I might even unpack my desk a little or fold clothes.  I’m really looking forward to a casual night, an invigorating weekend, and getting back to training next week!

4 thoughts on “BlogHer10: Sessions

  1. Just found your blog through Ashley’s (the edible perspective) and couldn’t help noticing that you went to a private liberal arts school in Indiana. Me too! (Goshen College in Goshen, IN which is near South Bend) I’m wondering what school you went to…

    Your blog looks great! Welcome to Colorado (I’ve lived in Denver for two years now)!

    • Hi Emily! I’m so glad you found my little blog 🙂

      I went to DePauw in Greencastle, but I’ve definitely heard of Goshen College!

      I just read that you’re the library goddess at an elementary school. You must be so busy!! I hope the school year has gotten off to a great start 🙂

  2. lol…McDonald’s Big n Tasty – i’ve never heard of that but the name is hilarious to me!

    thanks for the tips again! i feel like i’m still figuring out how to “be real”, cuz the truth is, i have a weird sense of humor and i’m a bit afraid of taking it too far one of these days. (i don’t want people to think i ACTUALLY have a martini after a workout…know what i’m sayin?)

    hey btw, i LOVE your idea about tuesday boozeday!! i’m always conscious about drinking my calories. you have to be, some of those drinks are like having a fourth meal! that’s why i stick to flavored-vodka and water (i recommend stoli raspberry or kettle one citrus. okay now you really do think i drink a martini post workout…:) )

    • The Big n Tasty is just a McDonald’s hamburger, but they put lettuce and tomato on it, things that I believe should be standard on any hamburger.

      I understand the weird sense of humor thing! My salsa buddy, Skillet (my nickname for her :)), and I have this wacked out humor and we’re pretty sure it freaks people out.

      I’m so pumped about my first Tuesday Boozeday!! SQUEE!!

Leave a Reply

