Weekend Recap

This weekend was super busy!  This weekend I had the Afalc Iron Girl triathlon and the Venus de Miles bike ride.  I also went to a street festival, cleaned the kitchen, went out dancing, and got to spend some time with my favorite cuddle monster*.

My very first triathlon was on Saturday.  I stopped by the Boulder Reservoir on Friday to pick up my packet and rack my bike.  I was number 16!  I strolled around the expo and picked up some nice swag.  I’m really excited to wear the t-shirt, it fit really well.  I also met up with Kelly from My Life as a Trimommy to do a quick interview about the event and my experiences.  It might show up on the Facebook page; if it does I’ll let you know!

I’m not a very good example of what to do for a race, since I got all my stuff together Saturday morning before I left.  Right after shutting the door to my condo, I had to go back in…twice.  Once for socks and the other for my race packet, very bad things to forget!  I got to the transition area and set everything up.  I put down my towel, shorts, shirt, shoes & socks, and my bike helmet with sunglasses inside.  Huge thanks to Kelly for the photo of my in transition!

In the transition area

The swim was a .25 mile swim, which was shortened from the original length of .5 mile.  I was in the last wave to start; my wave started 25 minutes after the first wave and there were five waves.  Lesson learned on the swim: WARM UP!  Before the swim, I did go in the water and splash around a bit, but I didn’t warm up my muscles.  I pretty much treated the swim as my warm up and it was definitely reflected in my time.  Even though it was in open water and I had to swim around obstacles (known as people), I though my swim time was pretty lazy!  Oh well, next time it’ll be better!

I think the hardest part was the bike.  It was a 17.2 miles bike ride and I wasn’t wearing a chamois, so let me tell you, it was a little painful!  Thankfully there were some really nice hills that I could power down.  The loop was really nice.  About half way through the course a woman on a pink cruiser bike passed me.  She wasn’t in my swim wave, so that can only mean one thing: I swim faster than she does.  🙂  I’m not riding with clipless pedals and shoes and eventually the bottom of my right foot was completely asleep.  It felt really weird!

My transition time from the bike to the run was super fast, since I didn’t have to change shoes!  It was so strange to go run after biking especially with a barely-operating right foot.  My time from the run certainly isn’t fabulous for a runner, but I was so proud of myself!  I finished a 5k in under 40 minutes after a .25 miles swim and a 17.2 mile bike.  And I jogged the whole thing!  To put things in perspective, last year when I did the Aflac Iron Girl 5k my goal was to finish it in under 45 minutes.

Overall, I’m really proud of myself for completing my first triathlon.  I can’t wait to sign up for another one and maybe actually train seriously for it!  I’m so glad that I made the Aflac Iron Girl triathlon my first one.  The atmosphere is so supportive and positive and encouraging!  Plus, the breakfast afterward is always top notch 🙂  That made for one busy Saturday!  Not only did I do my first triathlon on Saturday, but I also cleaned the kitchen.  I know, those accomplishments are definitely on the same level!

Times

  • Swim: 8:44
  • T1: 3:21
  • Bike: 1:13:22
  • T2: 00:38
  • Run: 38:48
  • Total: 2:04:49

Sunday was the Venus de Miles ride.  These were the two events that I really wanted to do this year and it just so happened they fell on the same weekend.  For Venus, I signed up for the 33 mile ride.  I figured a 50-mile bike weekend would be just fine.  I arrived a little before my wave would leave which gave me enough time to grab an evol burrito for breakfast, change my shoes, and hang out for just a bit.  The 33-mile course had this hill (interestingly enough, I had biked down the same hill the day before for the triathlon) that was quite large and I biked up the whole thing!  No stopping and walking for me!

One of the really cool things about the Venus de Miles events is how much fun it is!  It isn’t a race and it’s a well-known fact that if you want a trophy at Venus de Miles, you’ll have to bring your own.  There are rest stops along the route with snacks, drinks, and music.  My first Venus was super fun and I’ll definitely be doing it again!

Oh, did I mention the Men in Drag team??  All over the course, there are guys on bikes, dressed in drag, that have tubes, pumps, patch kits, etc. for roadside assistance.  It was so hilarious to watch a guy in a skirt/dress/pig tails bike past you as he was hauling to the another stop.  I told the Cuddle Monster if he ever wanted to be on the Men in Drag team I would be 110% supportive and he told me that I was delusional and it will never happen…not even in an alternate universe of my creation.  🙂

This was probably one of my more eventful weekends in a long time.  I’m looking forward to this week being less busy and stressful.  With a four day weekend coming up, I’m also looking forward to lots and lots of sleep!

I really want to hear about what you did this weekend!

*Alright, in reality, I’m the cuddle monster.  Since I haven’t checked about privacy concerns, I don’t want to go throwing my guy all over this blog.  I believe people should have control of their information and online identities and I don’t want to violate that belief or his privacy.  So, on this blog, I’m going to call him the Cuddle Monster.  Seriously though, I’m actually the cuddle monster and he is really great about putting up with it 🙂

4 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

    • No way!! I met number 15 when I was racking my bike. I feel so numerically in order! 🙂

      Congrats to you too on your first tri! I loved it, are you planning on doing any more?

    • I was pretty wrecked on Monday. I think I’ve recovered now! 🙂 I’m just so glad I did both the events because they were really fun.

Leave a Reply

