Running Confession

I have a little bit of a confession to make.  My right foot hurts a lot.  I thought if I didn’t talk about it, maybe it wouldn’t exist and it would go away and everything would be happy again.  But that hasn’t happened and it’s been going on for a couple of weeks now.  It started with a four mile run and a rugby practice a few weeks ago.  I got back, and the outside (if you were to draw a line from you pinky toe to your ankle) of my foot was in awful pain.  I told Ty the next day and I did a weights workout with a lot of supersets working my arms, shoulders, and back.  He told me to rest it for a couple of days and that it might be a stress fracture.

At the very beginning of my run, I don’t feel anything.  In the middle and end of my run I can feel a bit of pain in my foot, but it’s after I stop running (cool down, walk to the car, change shoes, etc.) that the pain become excruciating and I’m probably visibly limping.  I can’t imagine that this is good and I’m getting to the point where I really can’t stand it.  It takes about three days for the pain to subside and then, stupidly, I go out for a run again.

I signed up for the Denver Rock n Roll half marathon and I really want to do it because running a half marathon would be badass and it’s the inaugural one!  If I don’t do it, I feel like I’ll be upset with myself for not following through with one of my goals.  Plus, it was an expensive race to enter!  (Is that a lame reason?)  I guess I should go see a doctor to figure out what’s up with my foot and maybe he/she can refer me to someone and then it will all be better.  I’m really tired of being in pain after I run, but part of me just wants to say “screw it” and run through it.  I’m pretty sure that would be a bad idea though.  At the same time, I don’t want to go to a doctor and have him/her tell me that I can’t dance for four to eight weeks.  I don’t think I would be able to handle that.  I suppose if a doctor were to tell me that I can dance and swim, but not run, I’d be ok.

Thoughts?  Suggestions?  Stories of coming back strong from an injury so I won’t feel like a cop-out?

4 thoughts on “Running Confession

  1. I hurt my hip marathon training, ignored it, ran it anyway, had a terrible painful race, a terrible time, and absolutely regretted it. So…I would go to the doc, lol. I’m not running my half that I had planned on this weekend, so I understand all your feelings on wanting to meet your goal.

    • I think I’ll stop running for awhile and focus on other things…like swimming 🙂 I’ll probably go to the doctor in a month and a half. I’ll do a quick run before going and maybe I’ll be all better by then!!
      Since I have the day blocked out anyway, I guess I’ll go to the event and cheer people on.

  2. this sounds like me! i had pain in that part of the foot for 2 weeks. (sucked big time.) i’m not an expert (at all) but they say form is everything. if you google “The Globe and Mail running” …it’s a Canadian newspaper with a pretty good running section. one thing i read was smaller steps are better than longer strides (easier on the body and more efficient.) good luck to you, mate, i feel your pain!

    • Thanks for the recommendation! I’ll definitely check out that section. As far as form goes, mine probably just looks painful, lol 🙂 I figure if I take a break for it to heal, I can come back and be just as fabulous!

Leave a Reply

