Watermelon Freshie

Last night I didn’t do as much cooking as I wanted.  This roughly translates to, I made myself dinner and that was it.  Thankfully, I also celebrated Tuesday Boozeday.  Yesterday, I made Watermelon Freshies.  I have no idea why I chose the word Freshie, but I used fresh fruit and I wanted the name to reflect that.  This way, I can make Apple Freshies and Peach Freshies…yeah, I have big plans.  🙂  Back to watermelon though, I wanted something that would celebrate the tail end of summer.  Watermelon seemed like a really good choice.

Watermelon Freshie (makes 2)

1 cup cubed watermelon

2/3 cup So Delicious Original Coconut Milk

1/3 cup Malibu Coconut Rum

Optional: 2 mint leaves

Combine all ingredients in a blender.  Pour into two glasses.  Enjoy responsibly.

Thoughts

We have some large glasses in our kitchen, so my Watermelon Freshie served one, but it can easily be split into two normal sized glasses.  Next time I make this, I’ll probably leave out the mint leaves or perhaps just add one.  I really enjoyed the flavor it added, but I just keep thinking I was going to drink an entire leaf (a la mojitos).  I did love the watermelon-coconut flavor combination!  Although I was drinking it in my living room watching a DVR-ed Daily Show, this drink would really be more at home on a beach at 2 pm.  The only small drawback is you have to stir the drink a lot since the coconut milk and water don’t seem to want to stay mixed.

One of the things I love about this drink is that you get a serving of fresh fruit!  Plus, coconut milk and watermelon are pretty low in calories, so this drink isn’t going to make a huge dent in your day.

I’m quite happy with how the Watermelon Freshie turned out and I’ll definitely be keeping it in mind for next summer!

4 thoughts on “Watermelon Freshie

Leave a Reply

