Kitchen Adventures

My personal life, which has been very rocky recently, is getting itself back together.  I love what a little communication can do!  No, seriously.  The best pieces of advice EVER are “use your words” and “be honest.”  I’m feeling much happier, which means I can stop dwelling on things that aren’t going my way or are making me angry.  I’ll openly admit it, I’m a dweller.  I usually dwell on things that make me intensely angry or intensely happy.  I’m quite thankful my dwelling goes both ways.

I’ve been swimming again.  I love swimming.  And I love being coached.  It’s so nice to show up to a Boulder Aquatic Master’s practice and have a workout written for the practice.  Monday I swam after work and it was dismal.  My day had gone sideways pretty fast and I got out after 40 minutes, but at least I did something!  Tuesday I tried out the lunch practice.  It’s from 12-1 and pretty close to my office.  I really liked working out in the middle of the day (I think, I’ll have to try out a few more times before a final verdict).  Today I meant to go to practice this morning, but I couldn’t make myself get out of bed, so I’m planning on going this evening.  General consensus: YAY!

On to the Kitchen Adventures!  On Monday night I decided I was going to make two things that I could have for lunch and dinner this week.  I made Malisa’s Chili Mac and some chunky vegetable tomato sauce.  They both involve simmer time which left me free to do other things, like prep the ingredients for the next dish or watch G.I. Joe (*heart flutter* Channing Tatum).

Malisa’s Chili Mac is a recipe I stole from, who else, Malisa.  She used to make it when Ashley and I came over to her apartment for dinner because it was easy to throw together and we could sit and chat while it simmered.  There’s not much of a recipe, just a list of stuff to get and put in a pot!  For this version I used tomato sauce, diced tomatoes (no sodium added), kidney beans, mini-bowtie pasta (cooked to al dente), ground turkey (lightly browned), onions, corn, Serrano pepper, chili powder, and crushed red pepper flakes.  Throw everything in a stock pot and simmer for how ever long you’d like.  I simmered mine for 45 minutes.  It makes bunches, so I decided to freeze half.  We’ll see how that goes.

For the chunky vegetable tomato sauce, I just threw a bunch of veggies in with a jar of pasta sauce and let it simmer.  I have a bad habit of adding too many vegetables, so it might be wise to halve what I actually put in.  I put in 3 carrots, 1 onion, 2 cloves garlic (minced), 1 Serrano pepper, 1 bell pepper, 1 zucchini, frozen corn, 1 can diced tomatoes (no sodium added) and 1 jar pasta sauce.  Mix it all together and let it simmer while you make pasta.  I had a spaghetti squash I needed to use, so I though I would bake that for dinner.  It turned out to take a lot longer than I thought it would.  When it was supposed to be done, I was starving, so I had a turkey dog instead!  The squash did eventually bake and I have it in a tupperware all ready to be eaten tonight for dinner.  I also froze half of the tomato sauce, which I hope turns out well too!

Tonight, I have swim practice and then I plan on baking pumpkin themed things.  I really want to try this recipe for Starbucks Pumpkin Scones.  I had one over the weekend and I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it!!  There may also be some pumpkin cookies or cupcakes in the near future.  I’m just so glad I like pumpkin.  Once upon a time when I was young and stupid I didn’t like pumpkin.  Those were dark times.  Squee for personal taste evolution! 🙂

Leave a Reply

