Pumpkin Time

I’ve been saying that I want to bake things with pumpkin in them for at least a week now.  There has been almost no follow-up except for buying a can of Libby’s 100% Pure Pumpkin.  Although that sounds like a promising first step, the can then sat in my pantry.  I was going to make something on Monday, but I was busy simmering chili and sauce and watching G.I. Joe.  I had planned on making something after my events on Tuesday, but I threw all my plans out the window and catered to someone else (which was a good thing).  And so Wednesday arrived; I had lofty goals of swimming and baking.  Unfortunately, I hadn’t checked the swim schedule beforehand and there is no evening practice on Wednesday.  That just left baking!  And, as it turns out, coloring.

I decided I was going to make Starbucks Pumpkin Scones and Libby’s Pumpkin Spiced and Iced Cookies.  I had to go to the grocery store to pick up a couple things like powdered sugar, half and half, and toilet paper.  I also happened to come across the school supply section in Safeway which led to one of the best impulse buys ever!  Disney coloring pages and crayons! 🙂

Crayons just smell like childhood.  It was pretty amazing.  Before I did anything, I decided I needed to get some coloring in.  I started with Buzz.

I’m pretty proud of my coloring skills.  Plus, it was really therapeutic.  It was just…nice.  After coloring Buzz, I realized I need to bake something!  I decided to start with the scones.  I looked at the nutrition facts for the scones and it’s about 500 calories per scone.  I thought that’s crazy, so I made a few adjustments for my recipe.  Instead of using 6 tablespoons of butter, I used 6 tablespoons of applesauce.  I only made the spiced glaze and I drizzled it over the scones.  I used about half of what I mixed up.  The recipe says it makes 6 scones, but I made 12.

If I make these again, which I hopefully will, I’m going to tweak a few things in the glaze.  I’m going to double the spices, cut back on some powdered sugar and add some pumpkin to the glaze.  That being said, they were still delicious!  With my adjustments, the nutrition stats got a lot better.  Check out the before and after 🙂

Before After

I think my changes made quite the improvement. After making the scones, I was done for the evening. But don’t worry, I got up on Thursday and I baked cookies!! I made some changes to the Libby’s recipe too.  I used applesauce instead of butter and I used dark chocolate chips.  I also didn’t make 60 cookies.  I made about 30.  I only had so much time in the morning; I could only bake one batch and it had to fit on two cookie sheets.  If you make them the proper size, the calories per cookie go down a bit.  Either way, they wind up being scrumptious!

Cookie Nutrition Info

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Time

  1. girl, i love the new blog theme! you seriously need to teach me, i tried changing mine and it turned into a DISASTER (hence, i changed it back. sigh….)

    p.s. — I was going to make something on Monday, but I was busy simmering chili and sauce and watching G.I. Joe.
    (that sentence is too friggin’ funny. thanks for that :))

Leave a Reply

