News, news, news

OK, where to begin?  I haven’t blogged in a really long time and I don’t want to bore you with a chronological review of my life for the past month.  I suppose here’s a rough overview of things that have happened with a little bit of background information.

I moved out to Colorado after graduating from college to start my first job.  I’ve always been pretty geographically mobile, so moving from IN to CO wasn’t a big deal.  Plus, I was so excited to have a job out college (I accepted the offer before the second semester even started) in this kind of economy that I wasn’t going to turn it down.  The move itself was a huge disaster (that’s for a completely different post), but was eventually saved thanks to my SuperParents (a Super Hero couple made up of SuperMom and SuperDad).  I eventually moved from Lakewood to Boulder to be closer to work; I spent 9 months commuting one hour each way.

I liked living in Lakewood, but I adored living in Boulder.  The people in Boulder are great, the food is great, the activities are great.  Everyone is so active that you have to be just to fit in!  Suddenly conforming isn’t such a bad thing.  In Boulder I started to make a physical community around salsa dancing, swimming, cycling, and some women in tech groups.  It sounds like things were going pretty well and to some extent that’s true.

On the other hand, I was really struggling with my work.  I didn’t enjoy it and I wasn’t finding meaning or personal satisfaction.  It was nothing against my employer, but I felt I had been jaded beyond the point of return and I made a lot of mistakes due to indifference.  (Recent college graduates: Please don’t make that same mistake.)  One morning I woke up and I realized I needed to find a new job, something that made me happy.  The happiness I was storing up from my extra curricular activities wasn’t covering my 9-5 anymore.  I needed to do something.

I started thinking about what I really wanted from a job.  I came up with my The Plan.  The Plan detailed the things I love to do, my objective, positions that encompassed the things I love to do, projects that I could work on to be a better candidate for those positions, and how I was going to make it happen.  I’m actually quite proud of my The Plan and I’ll probably post more about it later.  Because of The Plan and some upcoming conferences, I was able to start my job search by reaching out to my network.  Through my network, I learned a lot about different technology industries, got some great advice for modifying my resume (and managing my expectations), and was introduced to a lot of very intelligent, very helpful people.

So, here’s some news: I now work for Microsoft…in Washington, D.C. In fact, I’m writing this blog post from D.C.  I’m an Academic Developer Evangelist (ADE) for the East Region.  My territory includes Maryland, Virginia, Washington, D.C., West Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina.  As an ADE, I get to work with faculty and students in the context of Microsoft technologies.  I’ll get to do a lot of public speaking and lot of interacting with people.  I get to tell students and faculty all about the Imagine Cup and how much fun it is to compete in it.  I get to play with the newest stuff from Microsoft like Azure, Kinect, and Windows Phone 7.  Not only do I get to play with it, but I need to know how to develop on it so that I can teach others.  Basically, this position fits me.  I started last Wednesday and it’s fast-paced, overwhelming, and I love it.

It feels like after the interview process started, everything happened so fast and *poof* here I am in D.C.  I’ll admit it, I’ve gained back all of the weight I lost, plus some.  My eating habits are in the toilet and my workout schedule is non-existent.  I was essentially hiding from the blog-o-sphere pretending like those statements weren’t true.  BUT I’m doing something that makes me really happy.  I cut off a foot of hair and donated it to Locks of Love so that I could kickstart a new job with a new look (check out the pics below).  And I joined a gym yesterday and I’m planning on getting a personal trainer again.  At this point, I know I need some major external motivation.  When I move into the adorable basement apartment I’ll be renting, I’m going to stock my kitchen with good, healthy things.  Until then, I should maybe throw away that bag of Fritos and peel an orange instead.

Before my haircut After my haircut

I’m very sad to leave Colorado because I loved it so so much.  If you’re in Colorado, and you don’t want to follow my blog anymore, now that it’s based in D.C., that’s ok, I understand.  Although, I sure would be tickled if you would join me on this new and big adventure I’m starting!

6 thoughts on “News, news, news

  1. Congrats on your new job! I kinow that sometimes it takes a while to adapt to change. I’m sure that it’s been hard to settle into a routine with your job. Sounds like you are getting back on track though with the plan to get a personal trainer. Good luck!

    • Thanks! It has been hard to get in a routine, especially since I’m in temp housing and the routine will be shortly lived anyway. I’m hoping to hit up the gym tonight for a group class. Yay!!

      P.S. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. Aw, man…you left before we had a chance for a meetup…sigh. LOL. I feel like the only blogger in CO sometimes. HUGE congrats though! Good for you. Too many people just drone on doing what they hate, being miserable.
    PS love the new hair!

    • Thanks! I’m so excited to be in a job I love. It was truly time for a change and that change just happened to take me to DC. I used to have a CoBlog folder in my reader that was full of Colorado blogs I found on http://www.healthylivingblogs.com. I just got an email about a healthy living/fitness blogging conference in Boulder in June. Want to go? I was thinking it would be really fun for me to come back to CO and if you’re going, we could meet up! Think about it 🙂 #hopeful

  3. I’m so excited for you! AND, now you’re only like 5 hours away from NYC! The haircut is adorable, the job sounds like perfection, I am so, so happy for you. Mwah! 😉

    • Thanks!! I took the train the other day for work to New Jersey! We should get together for a day trip or something. Seriously. 🙂

Leave a Reply

