Delicious Sweet Potatoes

I got the most recent Real Simple and it had this nice article about the 30 healthiest foods. On this list is sweet potatoes. One of the neat things about this list (and I highly recommend taking a look) is “Try This” snippet at the end of each food. It’s a nice reminder that good things can be made easily with just a few ingredients.

The other night I tried the suggestion for sweet potatoes and let me tell you, it’s delicious and super easy! I cut up an apple like I was going to eat and threw into a steamer basket with cut up sweet potatoes for 20 minutes. While I was waiting for them to finish, I got the rest of my dinner ready. When they were done, I put them in a blender with some crushed red pepper, brown sugar, and a drizzling of honey (I don’t have maple syrup). The crushed red pepper is really what makes this stand out. The sweet potato and apple go great together, but when you get sweet and spicy all in one bite, well, it’s pretty splendid! Next time I make it, I’ll probably skip the blender and use a potato masher (or a food processor); it wasn’t blending very well since there wasn’t enough liquid.

So, if you’re looking for a new way to eat sweet potatoes, definitely give this a try.

Leave a Reply

