Cooking for One: 8/26

In general, my publishing rhythm is really strong at the beginning of the week and then slows to non-existence by Thursday/Friday. I think the end of my week has been exciting, so I thought I should blog about it.

This week I’ve been all about cooking. This isn’t exactly new for me, but I am happy that I’m getting back into the habit. I find cooking for one person is actually kind of difficult. I have to find recipes that don’t leave too much of an ingredient leftover because I’m not that good at planning what to do with leftover ingredients (random creations/pantry surprise) yet. I also need recipes that have about four servings since I think 8 is too many servings for one person. That would mean I eat it once a day for more over a week and even then, some of the dish may spoil.

Lately, I’ve been loving stuff that’s easy to make and easy to divide. Once I make something, I divide it into serving sizes immediately so I’m not temped to overeat later. Of course, this means my fridge looks like I’m super organized and the rest of my apartment looks like a natural disaster has hit it. Right now, one of my go to resources for recipes are the Self Drop10 meal plans from April and May 2011.

Vegetable Ragout (Self, April 2011)

Simmer 1/2 cup low-sodium vegetable broth, 1/2 cup water in a saucepan. Add 2 cups arugula, 1 cup chopped tomato, 1 cup canned chickpeas (rinsed and drained), 1/2 frozen peas, 1 crushed garlic clove. Simmer 30 minutes. Top with 1 tbsp grated Parmesan cheese.

Notes: I mince the garlic clove. I also double the recipe so I can use the whole can of chickpeas and vegetable broth.

Points+: 9

Mediterranean Turkey meat Loaf (Self, May 2011)

Combine 1 lb. lean ground turkey with 2 eggs, 2 oz. reduced-fat feta, 3/4 cup chopped baby spinach, 1/3 cup chopped onion, 1/4 cup whole-grain breadcrumbs, 1 chopped garlic clove, 1/2 tsp each ground coriander, cumin, black pepper. Form into loaf; bake at 350 until internal temperature reaches 160, about 40 minutes. Cut loaf into quarters; enjoy 1 quarter with 1 medium baked potato topped with 2 tbsp non-fat plain Greek yogurt and 1 tsp chopped chives, plus 1 cup steamed broccoli tossed with 1 tsp lemon juice.

Notes: I’m not sure if I’d make this again. The flavor is a little bland and when I cooked it, I had to scrape of fat. Although that might be because I waited a tad too long to use the ground turkey. I’ll let you know if I make it again and if it improves. Also, I didn’t have it with a baked potato or broccoli, it’s just a serving suggestion.

Points+: 9

Gretchen’s Green Curry Mac & Cheese

For the full recipe, click the title! Gretchen has done of great job of putting her new recipe writing skills to work.

Notes: I added in some spice with this nifty pepper mix my mom bought me and I also added some “Thai spice.” (One of my good friends, Malisa, is Thai. She brought back a bag of spicy deliciousness last time she went to Thailand. I have no idea what it is, just that it’s spicy and I LOVE it.) I wish the dish was a little more curry-er, but I can fix that by added more curry paste next time. I loved that I was able to break up a 2-serving Annie’s box into three servings loaded with veggies.

Points+: 8

Whole-grain berry rhubarb muffins

1 1/4 cups whole-wheat flour
1 cup old-fashioned oats
1/2 cup flaxseed meal
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 cup plain non-fat Greek yogurt
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
3 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
1/4 cup orange juice
1 large egg
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/2 cup strawberries, chopped
1/2 cup raspberries
1 cup rhubarb, chopped

1. Heat over to 375. Line a 12-cup standard muffin tin with paper liners (or spray with cooking spray). In a medium bowl, mix the flour, oats, flaxseed meal, baking powder, and baking soda.
2. In a large bowl, whisk together the yogurt, sugar, butter, juice, egg, and vanilla. Add the flour mixture and mix until just incorporated (do not overmix). Fold in the fruit (two cups of your favorite fruit).
3. Divide batter evenly among the muffin cups. Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, 22 to 25 minutes.

To make ahead: The muffins will keep at room temperature for 3 days and in the freezer for 1 month. Warm in the microwave, 1 to 2 minutes.

Adapted from Whole-grain Blueberry Muffins, Breakfast Breakthroughs, Real Simple, September 2011

Notes: I had some rhubarb that I needed to use, so I though why not make muffins with it? They’re healthier than a cobbler or crumble and I can freeze them! I was nervous about the tartness of the rhubarb and adding enough sugar to balance it out, but they came out great! I omitted some ingredients, like pecans, and increased the amount of sugar and flaxseed meal.

Points+: 5

4 thoughts on “Cooking for One: 8/26

  1. Yay! You made it! Yeah, definitely add more curry paste next time. Now that I think about it, I probably could have been far more liberal with mine too (curry = so good.) Look at that bowl bursting with veggieeeees! Cool to know how many WW points+ are in it, too. If I weren’t so lazy I would calculate the real nutritional info for it too, hahaha. Maybe someday. 😛

    • Well, it takes a lot of work to post nutrition facts, so major kudos to you for that! If you do nutrition facts, I’ll do WW points+ 🙂 I’m probably going to make it again in a couple days for my boyfriend when I go visit him. I’ll experience with more curry and see how it goes!

  2. Pingback: Cool Delicious Recipe images | Swiss Food Recipes

  3. Pingback: Cinnamon fruit dip | The Importance Of Fruit

Leave a Reply

