Moving…again

 

 

Pike Place Market in Seattle

Pike Place Market in Seattle (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Yesterday I got an email saying that Malisa started following this blog. This was a huge OMG moment that has inspired me to write a blog post and possibly even start blogging here again. Since I lasted posted ages ago, there’s been quite a lot going on in my life. Most recently, I’m moving. Tonight I’ll be on a one-way flight to Seattle from DC. All of my household goods were packed and loaded on Friday and Saturday. My car was supposed to be picked up on Friday, but there have been some major issues with Auto Transport Logistics. I’m pretty unhappy about it since I may have to impose on one of my friends and ask them to take on the responsibility of making sure my car gets picked up.

As usual, I’m moving for my job, however this move has tons of personal reasons laced in too. Andrew moved from NYC to Redmond in February and since then we’ve been looking for a role for me in Redmond. An opportunity came up, so I took it! I’m now a vendor for Microsoft. My new role is the Program Manager for DreamSpark. As a Technical Evangelist, I talked about DreamSpark all the time, so I’m super excited to be working on and helping to enable other TEs in the field.

While my time in DC had some great highlights, I have to be honest and say that I’m glad to leaving. Due to my work situation and a few other factors, I was never able to create the community for myself that I wanted. I did, however, find two spin instructors that I love and I’m sad to be leaving them. But my social life couldn’t be built on spin class alone. For me, being in Redmond puts me closer to family, friends and loved ones. Plus, I’ll get to wear all my trench coats!

Nothing says new beginning like the New Year and I think the changes I’ve made so far (move coast-to-coast, leave Microsoft, work for a new company) will definitely create a new beginning!

Happy New Year!

 

 

One thought on “Moving…again

  1. Pingback: The Paleo Experiement « It's Hip to be a Square

Leave a Reply

