Paleo, Day 10 (Wednesday, 1/16)

Today’s eats

  • Breakfast: Pumpkin raspberry muffin, meat muffin
  • Lunch: 
  • Dinner: Beef & veggie stir-fry with cauliflower rice
  • Snacks: macadamia nuts, beef jerky, tea with milk & agave

Today’s stats

  • Weight: -7.4
  • Sleep: ~6 hours
  • Energy level: OK, I didn’t do very well at eating during the day, so when I was hungry I got sluggish
  • General feeling: fine

Workout

None

entertainment unit

New entertainment center!

Today I unpacked our TV. Pretty exciting moment considering how big it is and that I did it all by myself. I also managed to get it back on its base as well. Now the entertainment unit is all set up. Andrew put all of the gaming consoles and cable stuff on the selves and he even drilled holes in the back for the cables. Everything is so neat! Tonight we found the liquors box. We had to rearrange the liquor cabinet to make room for my bar and Andrew’s bar. Thankfully there’s not very much overlap so now we just have more stuff to make delicious drinks with! In order to make it all fit, Andrew had to drill another set of holes for the highest shelf. Now it all fits and it looks fantastic. I can’t wait until everything is unpacked an we’re ready to have people over so I can show off all of our work.

I am running into some difficulties with where to put spices so that they are accessible and easy-to-find. I’m brining two lazy Susans worth of spices and Andrew has an entire shelf of them as well. We may have to consolidate and store the extras somewhere else. I’m just sure where. Maybe the laundry room which is off of the kitchen? I could see an on-the-wall spice rack being useful, but I just don’t know if it would be enough space. Perhaps if it took up the entire wall, haha.

I also can’t really figure out where to put all of my tupperware. I have tons of plastic containers that I use for snacks and putting leftovers in individual servings to make grab-n-go eating extra easy. With Paleo, they’re great since we’ll bake a bunch of chicken thighs and then we can separate them into servings. However, I don’t know where to put those so they are accessible as well. In DC, I had a whole cupboard for them and right now all I can find is a shelf. I suppose there are a few styles that are low quality that I could throw away, but I still don’t know where the rest will go.

Writing out all of these concerns makes them seem somewhat manageable, but that’s definitely not how I felt earlier when I started crying about how nothing was fitting how I wanted it to in the kitchen. Andrew made the executive decision that we were done unpacking for the night and he made me tea to calm me down. I still have no idea what were going to do, but I can accept that these things may not solve themselves overnight.

2 thoughts on “Paleo, Day 10 (Wednesday, 1/16)

  1. My roommate and I have a ton of tupperware, like WAY TOO MUCH. We bought a little iron shelving unit for the kitchen and use the top shelve for fruit bowls and the two bottom for our tupperware!

  2. It sure is nice to have a place to come and write down your thoughts, getting them out, even when it’s just about the tupperware you have no room for. Which is interesting to read about. I have no advice for that because I never know where to put them either. But as for the spices, it’s great you have so many but what about picking out the ones you both use the most, putting those in the kitchen, and storing the rest in the laundry room?

Leave a Reply

