Menu Planning!

I’m so super excited because I menu planned this week. I had some leftovers from last week and some stuff in the freezer. That will actually last me most of the week. However, so I don’t get too bored, I’m going to make some shredded beefΒ this week. Tonight I’ll be grocery shopping for some much needed snacks. Last week was pretty much a bust as far as healthy eating goes and the fridge is look kind of bare.

In other news, I’ve started watching Alias (again). Ashley and I watched the whole series when we lived together one summer in college. We would watch a couple episodes at night and then marathon it on the weekends since we both had internships. Since we’re both in the Seattle area, we’ll get to watch bits of it together again. I do feel a weekend Alias-watching-marathon coming on. Yay!

Watching Alias has helped re-new the fitness/healthy resolve in me. I mean seriously, have you seen Jennifer Garner in this show? Other than that, all of the shows I’ve watched recently (Alias, Nikita, Revolution, Burn Notice, Arrow) seem to be telling me one thing: get combat training, you will need it someday. So, now I’m in training for combat training. Yeah. That one. Β πŸ˜€

Today I also reset the password on my LivingSocial account since they were hacked last week. That might have been a bad idea since I managed to buy 4 deals. Ahhhh!! I’m so addicted! Anyway, I’m signed up for a box of organic produce to be delivered to my door with Full Circle. I also got two tickets to a Sushi-making and Sake-tasting class for myself and Andrew. It’ll be a fun date for us. If you’re in the Seattle area and either of these sound interesting, you should totally buy them through my referral link because then I might get mine for free, which would be exciting!

Here’s what my menu plan looks like this week. I didn’t plan snacks, but I made a list and I’ll probably have two each day. Thankfully, I don’t need much variation for breakfast. When I lived by myself I would cook two dishes each week and use them for lunch and dinner all week. As long as the two dishes changed every week, I didn’t get bored. Plus there’s FroYo to look forward to on Saturday!

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Breakfast Cereal and yogurt Cereal and yogurt Cereal and yogurt Cereal and yogurt Cereal and yogurt Cereal and yogurt Cereal and yogurt
Lunch Mac n cheese Shepherds pie Mac n cheese Mac n cheese Beef ragout Beef tacos Panera & froyo
Dinner Shepherds pie Beef tacos Beef ragout Shepherds pie Mac n cheese Beef ragout

Snacks

  • Cottage cheese & fruit
  • String cheese
  • Apple & peanut butter
  • Grapes & turkey lunch meat
3 thoughts on “Menu Planning!

  1. As a working mom of 3 young ones, I too struggle with meal planning. I am currently working on a web tool that helps me make it easier. Try it if you like (currently in Beta), I would love to know if it helps you and your family. Contact me at terra@mealspring.com if you would like more info -mealspring.com

  2. Pingback: Together again | It's Hip to be a Square

Leave a Reply

