The Danger Zone

The past few months I’ve been running hot and cold with my healthy living journey. When something external happens that stresses me out, it is the first thing to go. Even though I know it shouldn’t be! So, after a few weeks of whining and being super lazy, I’m back at it. Today I made a to do list with meal planning and working out at the top.  Today I worked out for the first time in a while. I’m back at the beginning of Couch 2 5K. I’ve never been a runner and for the most part I really hate it. However, it’s different cardio from spinning and I have an app on my phone that has all the intervals. I don’t have to think all that much to do it, which is always something I want from going to the gym. As an added bonus, running doesn’t require any extra equipment, even though I go to the gym and run on the treadmill. I also made some notes for what I want to eat this week. There’s some mozzarella in the fridge that needs to be used up, so that’s a recurring theme for my meals.

I’ve worked out and I’ve meal planned (roughly), but what I really want to write about is the Danger Zone. The Danger Zone is days 4-14 of getting back into the swing of things when I really need to stay on top of my work outs and my eating. It really stems from patience and motivation. More specifically, my lack of it! After eating healthily and working for a few days (even just one), I want to be able to see a real difference. You know, a 10-pound difference. I’m just so impatient! I constantly forget that my body needs 1-2 weeks to actually process the good things I’ve done for it. I want the results now!  It makes it extremely hard for me to not give up after a few days citing “no results.” After about two weeks, I can see the results or at least feel them, so I’ve left the Danger Zone.

To try to combat my lack of patience and to try to increase my motivation during the Danger Zone, I think I’m going to create a vision board. Way back when I lived in Colorado, I had a nifty one that I liked. Since then I’ve been collecting pictures that I like, meaning to put them together. I’ve also gotten out a pair of my jeans that I want to fit into again. I’m going to hang them in the bedroom so I see them in the morning.

Any other tips for surviving the Danger Zone?

One thought on “The Danger Zone

Leave a Reply

