First 12-mile ride

This past weekend Andrew returned from his most recent trip. We haven’t spent a lot of time together yet because he was pretty exhausted from all of the travel. However, we did spend Sunday morning together. He’s really excited that I signed up for my tri and we went on a bike ride this weekend.

bikeride7-14We did a 12-mile bike ride to make sure I could do one for the tri. We started off very slow because we were on a gravel road. Halfway through we moved onto the road and that felt so much better! I’m not a big fan of riding my road bike on gravel/dirt roads, so I was nervous about it. Our route was enjoyable and I can change so it’s road the whole time. I’ll definitely be doing it again during training. While I usually go about 18-20 miles in spin class, riding outdoors is very different. I’d like to get my time down to 45 minutes for 12 miles. I haven’t ridden outside very much, so I’m not sure if that’s a reasonable

Speaking of training, tomorrow I’m going to go to my first master’s swim team practice in Redmond. I’m pretty excited about that! I haven’t gone to a master’s swim practice since I lived in Colorado. A few weeks ago I was swimming more. Hopefully I’ll be able to keep up on some level. I love swimming, but I’m always nervous I’ll be the slowest swimmer and I’ll cause problems for the group.

Overall, I’ve been feeling good about eating and working out. Big yay! Maybe having a race to train for is good for me. We’ll find out!

One thought on “First 12-mile ride

  1. Congrats, keep up the good work. Me personally, I have been getting into running longer distances. I developed my ability to run 3 miles in under 25 minutes doing Cardiac Power Intervals. If you don’t know what that is you can google it. You’ll probably find a lot of good stuff. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

